All set for CONCACAF U-20 Championship next January in Jamaica

The draw of the CONCACAF 2015 Under-20 Championship scheduled to be staged in Jamaica next January, was held at the Hilton Rose Hall Resort Hotel, in Montego Bay, St James on Thursday, October 30.

FIFA Vice President and CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb opened the event. In his short but informative address to the audience he wished all the teams’ success and praised Jamaica for the grand opportunity of hosting this youth competition which included top teams from the region.

Resulting from the draw the twelve teams were sorted into two groups of six. This exercise was conducted by CONCACAF’s Director of marketing and communications Jurgen Mainka and Jamaica’s Former national players Aaron Lawrence and Ricardo Gardener (members of the 1998 World Cup team).

Group A features hosts Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago, Aruba, Panama, United States and Guatemala while the Group B teams are Haiti, Canada, Mexico, Cuba, Honduras and El Salvador.

The Caribbean Football Union (CFU) has five teams in contention for this prestigious championship namely Jamaica, Haiti, Cuba, Aruba, Trinidad & Tobago.

The National Stadium in Kingston and the Montego Bay Sports Complex will each play host to Group A matches, with the opening date to be played in Kingston on January 9.

The Montego Bay Sports Complex hosts all the action in Group B, and the final phase on January 24 when the Confederation crowns the champion.

The top team from each group after round-robin play advances to the World Cup, and the second and third place nations from each group advance to the final day knockout phase, with the chance to dispute one of a pair of play-in matches which will determine CONCACAF's other two World Cup spots.

In an effort to favor development and competition, the new CONCACAF under-20 tournament format has increased the number of guaranteed games for each participant to five, up from two in the previous editions.

Mexico is the two-time defending CONCACAF Under-20 champion, having claimed the title at home in Puebla in 2013, and in Guatemala City two years earlier.